The fantastic Mr Ford.


Designer lookbooks are all the rage at the moment and with each major house releasing stunning presentations of their Spring/Summer ranges in a concentrated images (not that runway parades are a mess, really, well at least not for some designers) and Tom Ford did me best with his recent campaign.

Mercy Mercy Mercy


In case you didn’t know, I am a huge fan of period fashion. I love it when newness is injected into nostalgia in the most flattering of forms, so when Jenny Andrews (@jennyinjozi) tweeted a link to these images, I knew she was winking at me. Starring he-model Mathias Berg and photographed by Tom himself (yeah, we’re on a first name basis), the styling on the shots reminded me of how I have always imagined what Jay Gatsby (from F. Scott Fitzgerald’s fantastic novel) to wear, every time he meets with Diasy Buchanann for a secret rendezvous during one of his famed weekly parties.

Some of my dreams are tailored.


Weird, how the lookbook came around the same time I had just finished studying Hywell Davies’s article tittled “It’s Classy to be classic”, for GQ Style A/W 2011.

plenty room for blue moods


Davies based his his article around “the new breed of informed style advocates taking a stand” and I am more interested in understanding their sartorial references than their well considered buying power. This exactly what a man of today should aspire to…


Leave a Reply

