Beckham, my Valentine


I’m still recovering from yesterday’s Valentine’s day headpins. Once again, I ended up in argumentative pits defending my cray (crazy -if you don’t speak street) obsession with the 14th of Feb. This year we -together with interesting strangers-come-BFF’s from my twitter TL, debated over the art and traditions of gifting. Thoughts vs physical size of the present. All I really wanted and tweeted extensively, was a number from David Bheckham’s debut bodywear for H&M.

HERE ARE SOME OF THE Q&A’s I’VE RECEIVED THROUGH DM.

Q: Why do you even care about an unimaginative, consumerist-oriented and entirely arbitrary, manipulative and shallow interpretation of romance day?
A: Call me a blind sheep if you want to but even though there are many tales about Saint Valentine’s and the 14th of Feb or Emperor Claudious the second, or Pope Gelasius, or St Marius (Valentine’s BFF) or Juno -the Goddess of women and marriage, or even the festival of Lupercalia (can you tell, I’m totally bragging about my knowledge here), I believe that I deserve one full day of cheesy, predictable romance?

Q: Why underwear?
A: I’ll have you know that on of the most common gifts for men so happens to be underwear. So far, silky or even satin boxers with hearts, cupid images or something relating to V-day. I have had enough and damnit, I reserve the right to choose.

Q: What’s so special about David Beckham’s underwear line anyway?
A: Uhm…. firstly; David Beckham ,which means it carries the elegance as embodied by the man himself. Secondly it is his debut collection and H&M’s Design department has promised that the range is of a top quality and if you see any of the nine underwear styles, these are good.

Q: But isn’t Valentines about exchanging small gifts? Which would ultimately mean cost effective gifts and since this product is not available locally, it should be expensive.
A: I’m talking bodywear, really. If you’re going to compromise on quality maybe we shouldn’t be having this conversation. As a matter if fact, I do have a friend who only buys his delicates online(can I even say “delicates” relating to mens underwear?). Besides, these items are available in over 1800 H&M stores world wide and since we are a global generation, I believe getting them over here won’t be much of a problem.

I had a whale of a time answering these questions and who would have thunk that a full blog post would come out of it?

I CAN ONLY HOPE THAT ALL THE BELIEVERS OUT THERE HAD A RAD VALENTINE’S/GIFT DAY!!

Leave a Reply

