Meet the fresh sovereign. I give you Trevor Stuurman!!

Trevor Stuurman will reign as the prince of style locally. Mark my words. I’m not a very feely person who claims to communicate with my guts or anything of that sort, but I just knew the second my eyes shifted across the room to meet his rich baroque long sleeve shirt fastened to the top button, draped with a gold chain this past July at C-Squared’s after party for their Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Cape Town show.

Right on bud of the trend!

The following day it turned out that we had a mutual friend and got to chat a bit in the media lounge -a really charming young man whose passion for fashion photography left my imaginary hand hanging each time he stopped to aim his camera at yet another well dressed person. (Wait -it could have been my physical hand… whatevs -I hung) I just knew I had to feature him on this here and like the fairytale that is my life we got to it! Boy, is he in it or what!!

One can say that Trevor is a small town boy working towards his big city dreams. Born and raised in Kimberly –also known as the diamond city, he sees Cape Town as a “massive runway” with attractive people and eclectic fashions. Which is why he chose the city to study post high school. He is left with one more year to complete his BA degree in Motion Picture, Television Production, Costume Make-up and Styling at AFDA.

“I would really love to pursue a career in fashion photography. unconventional, provocative fashion photography like that of Steven Meisel is by far my most favoured.

His zeal for capturing multiple elements so as to form wide subjects in his shots comes very clear on his blog stuurmanSTYLEdiary.tumblr.com which I believe is has one of the most amazingly dedicated street style elements to come out of the land. However, the blog covers many other fashion related materials from show reviews, conceptual shoots and an odd trend identification.

“We have far too many Street Style blogs out on the net, which is the reason why everyone is keen on trying to be different and in doing so; they really end up seeming the same. I try to keep mine as proudly local as possible with content focused on the African swag. “

Trevor’s choices when it comes to personal style know no box. I say this because when you see him, there are a lot of retro elements, a sporty facet, hip-hop touches, street, club and gentle manly. It’s understandable that he counts Kanye West as of his style icons, this man is bringing it and he is doing it (very well) on a student budget.

“Certain things cannot be put into words, especially if they are close to one’s heart. Fashion should communicate one’s extension. It’s no use dressing top to toe in expensive gear and not have much character. I often go for interesting textures and patterns and that hardly hurts my pocket. That said. I will NEVER compromise on shoes. Cheap shoes are just nasty.”

Oh we went on-and-on and I really can’t go lengthy on this post. But rest assured when I say Trevor is the rightful fashion royalty and I for one cannot wait to see him upon his throne doing what I know will be celebrated by many more.

Trevor has recently been announced as one of the 18 semi-finalists ELLE’s Style Reporter search is association with Blackberry ® which his blog could be selected to be in the top 8 where we are allowed to vote and influence the final decision. Prices include a 7 month contract with Elle Magazine South Africa as a digital fashion and events reporter looking at trends between December 2012 and June 2013. A R10 000 monthly salary and some awesome Blackberry® merch. Look out for my guy. Trevor Stuurman of StuurmanSTYLEdiary.tumblr.com

 

 

8 thoughts on “Meet the fresh sovereign. I give you Trevor Stuurman!!

  1. Pingback: LET’S HAVE A VOTE(athon)! | mjandstuff

  2. Pingback: MJ x GMJ…AAAND ROLL FIERCE… | mjandstuff

  3. Pingback: MIDI FOR SHE AND MIDI FOR HE! | mjandstuff

  4. Pingback: TREVOR’S GREY MATTERS. | mjandstuff

  5. Pingback: SPOTTED: TREVOR’S PERIPATETIC JUSTICE IN THREADS FORM. | mjandstuff

Leave a Reply

