SUITS ME JUST FINE!

Black Suit Mahlatse James

I can’t believe that at my age I still have to sometimes retreat  from stuff and whine about more stuff while throwing around “why me?”. I think I just might need to put a sock in it and pace away to trip-hop or whatever the cool kids are listening to at the moment.  I bet you don’t quite know what it is you need to feel sorry about. Well, I’m back dealing with the suit issue. A sartorial ghost to a certain degree I say. I probably shouldn’t but I am freaking out here. For a human being who makes a living making decisions about what other people should be wearing, I can’t really make up my mind whether I am a suit person or not. You see, I grew up thinking it’s weird and unnecessary that people should wear any two or more items of the same texture (I can’t. it hurts the whole of me), which means; I have never walked into a suit/ shop/ boutique/ salon place and tried negotiating one for myself. However, I keep styling my looks into looking the closest to one. WTF Remember the super stylin’ number I coordinated when I went to Gavin Rajah’s show at Africa Fashion Week last October? Yeah, I really liked that co-ord. I did it again, this time for my cousin’s graduation in December.  Once again it was just something I put together with what I have always had.

Mahlatse James Black Suit

Last year I watched my first James Bond movie last year–try to NOT judge and I have seen that fine Tyrone Keogh bloke around, so a good suit is really happening right now. I wore my trusted fitted, black single button blazer from ASOS, roomy pants that used to belong to my guy –SNAP and a pair of classic (chalked) white Jack Purcell kicks to go with the embroided round neck shirt from my grandparent’s bottomless Kist.  And apart from my aunt’s somewhat candid “you look like a Mahotela Queens choreographer” observation, I quite liked the look.

All ye suited boys. The Graduate cousin is in the middle and that man on the far right is my kid brother.. nope, I kid not!

All ye suited boys. The Graduate cousin is in the middle and that man on the far right is my kid brother.. nope, I kid not!

My newest fav (Other) cuz, she throws a mad pose at a flash!!

My newest fav (Other) cuz, she throws a mad pose at a flash!!

My awesome watermelon-loving grand daddy in his trusted suit too!

My awesome watermelon-loving grand daddy in his trusted suit too!

I beg of you to please help me figure out if I am a suit person or not… This is all so confusing!!!

 

2 thoughts on “SUITS ME JUST FINE!

  1. Me says you are most deff a suit person. Geez that jacket is (lost for words). ASOS has really great stuff, but poor me had to settle for a similar style from Identity. If there is one person South African men need to have an eye on when it comes to edgy (don’t know what that means, but you get my drift); and that is MJ 🙂

Leave a Reply

