I GOT A POCKET FULL O’ SILK…A POCKETFUL!

MJ AND STUFF MAHLATSE JAMES

Earlier in the year, I was in Durban and whilst shopping with a dear friend who was leaving for Milan, I discovered Dominion Suits (Should totally do a piece about it sometime). These guys are based right in the heart of Durb’s inner city and are by far, the best suit salon I have ever been inside. As I was marvelling over everything, Mxolisi Luke –the friend, came towards me with a handful of pure silk pocket-squares. I swear it felt like an airport scene in a movie when I flicked in slow-mo and glided in his direction. As you could probably imagine, I kind of stocked up on a few in a wide variety of prints and textures. Reality hit me when I got back home and unpacked. I am not a pocket-square person –ok, at the time, I wasn’t. Even though truly should have trusted in my styling abilities. Here in this pic, I managed to style up a retro printed pocked-square with an old silk tie and a vintage short sleeved jacket. See how I contrasted an otherwise heavy top part with a pair of straight leg indigo jeans and boat shoes.  I am not about to allege that pocket-squares are my new “thing”, I have however, made cute plans to slot them into my coming winter wardrobe.

MAHLATSE JAMES STYLE MJ AND STUFF

Leave a Reply

