IFS VIP SHOPPING EVENING, WHAT I WORE!

Mahlatse James International Fashion Sale Street Style

So, last week I gave away five pairs of coveted tickets to the International Fashion Sale’s VIP shopping evening and we had such a great jol with the winners (and their +1s) trawling through stands of hectically marked down threads, and bargaining to stretch one’s budget for designer and regular retail available garments. More on the coverage a little later though, I just must tell you a mini tale about for the first time in a very long time I really didn’t know what to wear. No, really. During the day, prior the IFS I had three major engagements I couldn’t miss –all of which required three totally different outfits and I really didn’t have the vigour to work out day-to-night options, or more specific, in this series of meetings and launches; event-to-event options. Nevertheless, workable looks were achieved but by the time I got home to prepare for the highlight of last Thursday, I had a grand total of less than half an hour to “throw together something”. Have I mentioned that lately I have thing for being slow at getting ready? Yeah, I don’t quite know how I got here but it seems as though I just can’t prep anything on time these days, especially if the invitation suggests a set time of arrival. Anywho, the final outfit –put together in a record breaking twenty-two minutes and odd seconds, is something I would like to deem as BACKSTREET UTILITARIAN GRUNGE. This ensemble centres around a high-low “mullet” hemmed frock-come-rad-shirt by Religion Clothing styled over mildly acid washed skinny jeans from Sports Scene and my newest PUMA eco OrthoLite ® kicks. The bulkiness on the top waist part commenced with throwing on my uniform black bomber jacket from Mr Price, a few strands of wooden beads from the African Crafts Market in Rosebank an olive green beanie from Toxic Candy and a canvas militaria-esque satchel. Pretty sweet for a hasty fix huh!?

Mahlatse James, PUMA, Religion, Mr Price

Leave a Reply

