MUNTSO STRETCHES INTO ART CONVOS

MUNTSO BY LEON VON SOLMS AT SAFW MJ AND STUFF

The air fuzzy and almost everyone I know is buzzing with near-uncontrollable excitement for the annual FNB Joburg Art Fair coming up in the next week. I look forward to rubbing imaginatively padded shoulders alongside some like-mined people and hopefully score bundles of knowledge from plentifully educated aficionados. In conversations with jovial peers of mine, we all tried to draw points from which we will reel our “conversations” and since I am a practicing stylopolitan, I am planning to centre many of my references around the topic I am very well versed in; FAAASHION DAAAHLING. Now the tricky bit was picking a noteworthy reference point, then it dawned on me that I have always wanted an opportunity to brag about my perspective of Muntsho by Leon Von Solms’ Spring Summer 2013 collection. I was surprised to learn that not enough was said about the range since it was presented earlier in the year as part #SAFW’s Sheer Glamour Collection. For me this particular line translated pure art in the most objective of manners, the minute the first outfit hit the runway. Strongly inspired by Africa in mood and colour, the prints are abstract in shape and feature strong graphic shapes in blacks, greys and such thrilling blotches of sky blues, accents of gold and burnt oranges. The silhouette didn’t demand too much, but it is certainly worth mentioning that the designer crossed between updated 60’s and 70’s. I love the fact that these are easy-to-wear garments which will make for a relatable tête-à-tête. So I have plenty to speak about, at the FNB Joburg Art Fair happening between the 27th and 29th of September at the Sandton Convention Centre.

Leon Von Solms Muntsho MJ AND STUFF SOUTH AFRICAN FASHION WEEK

Leave a Reply

