#MBFWA2013: BOLD, BEAUTIFUL AND BESTS.

Mercedes Benz Fashion Week Africa MJ AND STUFF

If I was to ever publish posts of all mails flooding my inbox, I swear I would probably inspire a series of films to define a decade. It’s good to know that followers of this blog do pay great attention to details (via social media and all), and are very quick to serve as a reminder on a promised follow-up. Reviews of the recent Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Africa 2013; Ladies and gentle-brothers of the blogosphere, let it be known that I have written a rad review for last Thursday’s copy of The Times Newspaper –read it over HERE. I know I was also intensely anxious to get into sharing my view of David Tlale’s 10th year anniversary collection –that was also published by The Times Newspaper and you can read up on it HERE. To avoid windmill vibes, I am only going to blog about pieces and details which made my “starched” fashion heart flutter with optimism straight from the #MBFWA2013 runway.

Sheria Ngowi’s stylin’ shirt:

Sheria Ngowi’s stylin’ shirt:

I am growing to crush on button-up shirts like nobody would never imagine and when I saw what the Tanzanian born Sheria Ngowi has done through handsomely blending bright colour prints (in minimal yet impactful doses) on perfectly tailored shirts, I knew it was love.

David Tlale’s bolero style jacket:

David Tlale’s bolero style jacket:

When I told a good friend of mine about my full-blown love for this piece, he shot looks that could set my entire figgin’ closet on fire and I understood. The unconventional everythingness of it can be a tad overwhelming at first yet I cannot help but think of a gazillion ways to #WERQ it.

Mille Colines’ wink at cropped layering:

Mille Colines’ wink at cropped layering:

This is one style perfectly blurs lines between style preferences across genders. You know I am always quick to jump on any style with a hint of androgyny. The layering is flawlessly in check whilst introducing the manliest midriff hemmed shirt as something of a MUST HAVE.

Marianne Fassler’s bridal dream:

Marianne Fassler’s bridal dream:

One of my many highlights of 2013 has to be the fascination I have with everything connubial. I have literally sacrificed imperatives of my home-training and begged for invites. Marianne Fassler created a gown that will go down as history as the most versatile, nostalgic, fresh and oh so dreamy.

M Couture’s Fluid Blazer:

M Couture’s Fluid Blazer:

I don’t think it’s a secret that I love me a good blazer. That being said, I have to add that the novelty of a regular made baatjie could easily thread off. My drip for newity is all thanks to Tshwane based M Couture for their fluidly tailored ultra feminine jacket in a blend of fuchsia and sand tone. Just perfect.

Wetive Nkosi’s Ode to Prep:

Wetive Nkosi’s Ode to Prep:

Fashion has moved to the moon, the Vaal, the back of a truck and back but some rules just can’t be bent. Wetive’s bold decision to showcase this preppy dress is like an invitation for uncommonly cool kids to join the party. Shall I dare say that the preppy dude has just been moved off the spotlight by his female frienemy?

All pics by SDR photos.

 

 

2 thoughts on “#MBFWA2013: BOLD, BEAUTIFUL AND BESTS.

  1. Pingback: CROPPED, LAYERED AND TESTED! | mjandstuff

  2. Pingback: SAMSUNG AMAZED AFRICA AT THE MBFWA 2013 | mjandstuff

Leave a Reply

