FLOOR LENGTH KAFTAN REALNESS: SERVED!

Mahlatse James Kaftan MJ AND STUFF

Here is a little known fact: nobody #WERQs a good thobe quite like Malibongwe Tyilo of Skattie What Are You Wearing. I always tease and ask him about his thought process when he dons one, because I  have seen him serving some seriously chic pieces almost every fashion season and many years later, his response is always chuckle-filled, in jest and skims alongside a suggestion that sometimes it is just too easy to aim for a near-floor length number. Do trust me when I say it is much easier said than worn. A few years ago, I pleaded, begged and threatened my darling aunt to please gift me with anything stylish from her work travels across the continent and it was in Ethiopia where she picked up this gorgeous hand-embroidered Coffee Dress which she thought she was going alter into a mid-waist kaftan for me *LOL*. Over the years, I have only ever worn this piece in the comfort of my own home –doing Sunday afternoon stuff. This was all until a little while ago when I got an idea to take it to the streets –channelling dearest Skattie and to my pleasant surprise, I think I #WERQed it pretty well paired with my distressed denim vest, PUMA Trinomic XT1 PLUS kicks and my most #SICKENING Suede-Trimmed square framed Miu Miu stunners.

Mahlatse James South African Fashion Blogger

South African Fashion Blogger Mahlatse James MJ AND STUFF

MJ AND STUFF South African Blogger Mahlatse James

One thought on “FLOOR LENGTH KAFTAN REALNESS: SERVED!

  1. Pingback: VIBE YAKA: SHORT TO THE COAT. | mjandstuff

Leave a Reply

