REUNITED AND IT SUITS ME GOOD.

Mahlatse James suit

Okay, I’m having a bit of a Kate Middleton moment right here. Yes, she who made repetitive fashion a thing. I might have never placed the Duchess of Cambridge in the same ranks as the few style icons I have, but I certainly find myself shamelessly taking notes from some of her missions. Specifically her smart and realistic tendency to wear the same hero fashion items as often as possible. #WhoWouldHaveThunkIt. Many-many months ago; I styled myself into a “suit” made out of items sourced across a variety of channels –from designer wear, to thrifted vintage pieces, off-the-rail stuff and a bit of DIY. I was so chuffed with my creation that I even took it out to the streets that evening, right after Gavin Rajah’s show. Even though the overall look #WERQed then (it’s been well over a year), I never really thought of reincarnating this grey suit… until an invitation popped in for a dinner event when SCOTCH & SODA opened their newest flagship in Sandton. My internal brief called for integration between unconventionally updated classics, a wink at fresh shapes, lashings of humour and of course; my current state of style. The suit made a necessary comeback, high-waisted and tapered pants contrasted the fluidly tailored Italian Cut blazer with double breast buttons. For shits and wits; I chose unfussy greens, limes and yellow features to brighten my grey basis. Also, as a nod to my current fling with functional fashion -which is all very new to me- I always employ top three fundamentals every time I style myself: Something referenced, something odd and something bang-on-trend. Ain’t no shame in my cyclical fashion games and you can bet your top dollar that I will always commit wearing my well-treasured threads as anything but predictable.

Grey pants Suit Mahlatse James

MJ AND STUFF Blogger

Mahlatse James Grey pants Suit (2)

Vintage Fashion Suit MJ AND STUFF

Fashion Blogger, Mahlaste James MJ AND STUFF

 

4 thoughts on “REUNITED AND IT SUITS ME GOOD.

  1. Pingback: SPOTTED: CHECKMATE CHAPS. | mjandstuff

Leave a Reply

