ROUGH AROUND WHAT EDGES!?

South African Blogger

There is something about seemingly broken down backdrops. I don’t know if I’m only jumping onto the trend right now, *clubs head*but it is my current thing and I just love working out contrasting outfits to shoot there.

MJ AND STUFF Mahlatse James

Downstairs in my building, by the fire escape stairway, right next to the dumpster; there is buckloads of corrugated iron; rusty pipes and what looks like croaky crazy-heavy metal bars I have always avoided. Just the other day when I felt all grey and stuff –thanks to the recent Jozi weather, I braved to have these pics of me photographed and the moment made me think about many qualms most people have about my line of work.

Mahlatse James Fashion blogger

Without sounding cheesy, fact is; fashion can be a bit scary from the outside. I mean, we (all participating regulars) often prance around as though we live in a marshmallow world where perfection is something one dimensional and completely closed off from reality. Well, as much as there are people who live like that, I think my “calling” requires bringing it down to a relatable level because, sensibly, it’s a trade thriving on reaching as many people as possible. There’s really not much of a point in partitioning the fun stuff from the real world.

Mahlatse James MJ AND STUFF

#WERQ

Leave a Reply

