MBFW 2014: HERO PIECES –DAY 1

MBFWJ 2014 DAY 1 MJ AND STUFF

I have promised to pick out my favourite pieces from the designs showcased at the recently wrapped #MBFWJ 2014 and I simply must add that this was a rather fun exercise. This post is a bit different in a sense that I didn’t think as lengthily as I usually do, when selecting a grand total of ONE outfit per designer, that I foresee will definitely propel worthwhile successes for these unquestionably talented bunch. On each day, with every show, I swear I chuckled merrily in between unceremonious air punches and had to tactfully stop myself from High-5-ing a total stranger on the #FROW as sensibly crafted pieces with a clear story came before my eyes. In my humble opinion, these were definite items.

Tsotetsi KL

Tsotetsi KL

Day 1: Khotatso Tsotetsi of Tsotesi KL –he whose threads were worn by super model Alek Wek at last year’s Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Africa- opened the fashion week with an ultra feminine collection. From him, I am crushing all over the quilted blush pink bomber jacket with voluminous furry details. Sharing the same show-slot, Irmgard Mkhabela presented a shape contrasting collection which referenced a push/ pull directed technique and I was all about the giant sculpted filter 80 PPI jacket with bold shoulders and a zip-up detail.

Irmgard Mkhabela

Irmgard Mkhabela

Right in the middle of Stefania Morland’s detail-full collection, walked a dress which brought all realities to light. The wild berry toned high-low dress made out of sequins-bound fabric is limitlessly functional as it is new and ageless.

Stefania Morland

Stefania Morland

Pre-show conversations centred on fashion’s take on politics before Marianne Fassler’s Leopard Frock was showcased and the collection was a beautiful surprise which ignited our country’s much necessary topic; an intersection between the past and the future. I was buzzing for the fresh addition of metallic tones to the master designer’s usual print and texture work.

Marianne Fassler

Marianne Fassler

To close off the day of absolute optimism, Abigail Betz showcased a range of her signature romantic label which was unquestionably made for a stylish bridal party but I just thought the 1960’s style mini dress was spectacular. The dress in a pale aqua tone and embellished with giant stones, signalled a return of the world-shattering hemline.

Abigail Betz

Abigail Betz

For a detailed review, check out my coverage of the first day of #MBFWJ for Mercedes-Benz’s lifestyle publication; MBLife.co.za over HERE.

Pics: SDR Photos

2 thoughts on “MBFW 2014: HERO PIECES –DAY 1

  1. Pingback: LOADING… #MBFWJ2015 | mjandstuff

  2. Pingback: LOADING… #MBFWJ2015 – Hordl - SignUp, Learn and Discover

Leave a Reply

