MILLECOLLINES SERVING HAPPY FEELZ.

Mille Collines

I can’t help but want to #Throwback to a period sometime in the earlier days of the recently wrapped year when a lot of people claimed to have been over the happy song. Fast-forward to today and I can bet my third last rand that those very same people are probably among the first to lose a fight against an apparent fit of rhythmic claps and hums whenever the song comes on –because they’re happy…! Well, I for one, have a lot to credit my happiness -a foremost reason that I just won’t let escape my head and heart is a fashion brand hailing all the way from Rwanda; Millecollines. Inés Cautecasas and Marc Oliver went and slam dunked the fashion game (there really is no any other way to best express this thrill) with their most recent collection, showcased on the runway at the Mercedes-Benz Fashion Week Africa 2014.

MilleCollines Menswear #MBFWA2014 MJ AND STUFF

Mille Collines

Aptly named Nyamijyosi –after one of Kigali’s effervescent neighbourhoods, the presentation for clothing designed for the coming year’s spring and summer seasons was nothing short of a definite cause for #FabFeelz. From the moment when show lights went on to prompt a model twosome down the runway, all the way until I could summon all the home-training I needed in order to restrain myself from running backstage and “just be one” with the collection. Yes, I caught feelings and I went and caught ‘em hard because in this head of mine, I formed a relationship with the brand. It was an evening of firsts; my first time getting to sit in a Millecollines showcase and for the label; they introduced a foray into menswear also, their first street line which has me in crazy state of awesomeness whenever I think about it.

MJ AND STUFF MilleColines #MBFWA2014

From the collection, I decoded a very relevant and uniquely African pop-art vibe with laudable credentials for timelessness. From the spirited graphics printed onto some of the most refreshingly cut sweater style T-shirts, layered atop longer length tees –bold and fully serving on the quirk too. The styling suggested an incredible sense of intelligence as far as a necessity for collaborations is concerned. #Nyamijyosi’s moment on the #MBFWA runway was presented with collaborative efforts together with the likes of Joho based milliners Simon and Mary, famed for their cutest of hats, Dave de Witt’s SK8 Shades handmade from recycled skateboards, Izimbadada sandals supplied by the darling Maria McCloy were a fab-tastic wink to an unapologetically Africanist vibe.  One simply cannot, should not and most certainly will not dare discount the great inclusion of fun and bold neckpieces, bracelets and handbags seen in the “second stage” of the show; think textures referenced from the streets of #Nyamijyosi where concrete walls and dirt road contrast with smooth metal doors and plastic and sometimes glass. These accessories designed in-house, crafted with similarly unusual materials, as an extension of the collection.

classicism fully served

classicism fully served

Mille Collines

So spirited, so very now and forever, so very me…

Leave a Reply

